The Archdiocese of Atlanta encompasses the northern half of Georgia covering 21,445 square miles. Specifically, it includes the 69 counties north of and including the following counties: Lincoln, McDuffie, Warren, Hancock, Baldwin, Putnam, Jasper, Monroe, Upson, Meriwether and Troup.

The Archdiocese of Atlanta is a vibrant, diverse and rapidly growing Catholic community.  As of 2020, there are 102 parishes and missions, 293 diocesan and religious priests, 46 seminarians, 18 archdiocesan Catholic schools, 1.2 million Catholics, and 7.5 million people in north central Georgia.

The History of the Archdiocese goes back the late 1700s.  Originally part of the Diocese of Savannah, Atlanta was made a Diocese in 1956 and made an Archdiocese in 1962. The Province of Atlanta is comprised of five dioceses.

The Most Reverend Gregory John Hartmayer, OFM, Conv. is the Archbishop of Atlanta.

The Most Reverend Joel M. Konzen S.M. is a Auxiliary Bishop of Atlanta.

The Most Reverend Bernard E. Shlesinger III is a Auxiliary Bishop of Atlanta.